Hello everyone! I want to thank you so much for following. I really appreciate each and every one of you.

Please Note: Requests are closed at this time. ^_^ Thank you.

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Tomorrow, Tomorrow...

Guess what tomorrow is?

I'll just tell you:  NOVEMBER 1ST!!

Some of you might think I'm crazy already and some of you might not know the significance of November 1st.  So again I'll illustrate:

And now for those of you that do not know what NANOWRIMO is: National Novel Writing Month.

If you want more information than that feel free to check them out: nanowrimo.org

It's great fun, and it's for a good cause as well.

If you've already joined GREAT! See you in December. Lol. OH, and if you want to add me as a writing buddy: Here I am.

So, being that tomorrow is the start of the 50k word mad dash, I probably won't be posting all to frequently (not that I'm posting frequently now).  What I mean is, I probably will only get two books read in my down time, so I won't have much to review.

I will probably keep in touch with excerpts from what I'm writing, and Teaser Tuesdays and what not just full reviews will be hard. ^_^

Love you all! See you in December!


Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Top Ten Tuesday - Favorite Kick Ass Heroines



Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created at The Broke and the Bookish. Each week they post a new Top Ten list that one of their bloggers answer. Everyone is welcome to join! All they ask is that you link back to The Broke and the Bookish on your own Top Ten Tuesday post AND add your name to the Linky widget so that everyone can check out other bloggers lists! It’s super fun and a great way to meet other bloggers.

Today’s top ten is “Favorite Kick-Ass Heroines.” So here they are.  These women can kick ass, so don’t cross them. Ever.

1. Isabelle Lightwood (The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare) – Izzy is dangerous, deadly, and unapologetic with it. She’s also over-protective at times and a bit of a smart mouth too. 

2. Finley Jayne (Steampunk Chronicles by Kady Cross) – Finley is a regular looking girl with behemoth strength, and healing power. She’s got a wicked side that loves fighting and kicking ass.

3. Ellie (Angelfire Series by Courtney Allison Moulton) – Ellie is a demon slayer by night and a high school kid by day. She regularly consorts with angels and demons alike. She had power unlike any other and doesn’t abuse it. 

4. Scarlet (Archers of Avalon Series by Chelsea Fine) – Scarlet grows into a woman that anyone would be scared to cross.  She has an arsenal of weapons at her disposal and is a dead eye with a bow.  She’s not to be trifled with. 

5. Emerson Cole (Hourglass Series by Myra McEntire) – Emerson is fierce.  While not tall enough to be intimidating she makes up for it in attitude and some killer kung fu skills. 

6. Daphne (Mythos Academy by Jennifer Estep) – Daphne is a no nonsense kind of girl. She can also use any weapon handed to her and kill with it. She is one bad ass Valkyrie. 

7. Allison Sekemoto (Blood of Eden by Julie Kagawa) – Allie isn’t a quitter.  She’s generous with her friends and she fights for what she believes in.  She’s got wicked skills with her katana and definitely uses them without remorse. 

8. Yukiko (The Lotus War Series by Jay Kristoff) – She’s blunt and often tactless with it. She’s also apt at demon killing and deception. She’s strong even when the world around her is crashing down and her beliefs are trashed.  She comes through even stronger and skilled. 

9. Tris Prior (Divergent Series by Veronica Roth) – Tris is fierce.  The one thing I remember clearly that she insisted on was “I am brave.” With that as her motto there’s very little that she doesn’t attempt or let intimidate her.  

10. Six (The Lorien Legacies by Piticus Lore) – She is a warrior through and through. She doesn’t believe in quitting but she does have the good sense to know when a fight is futile and to find another way.  Six is superbly smart as well.  I love her thinking process.

So here are my top ten! What are yours?



Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Short Review: Awry

Awry 
Author: Chelsea Fine
Publisher: Firefall Publishing
Publish Date: June 2012

Sometimes love is meant to be. But sometimes...love is the death of you....

Seventeen-year-old Scarlet has just died. Only, dying isn't unusual for a girl under a centuries old curse that left her semi-immortal.

This time, though, she comes back to her current life instead of awaking in a new one, and she realizes the curse is changing. Together with the immortal Archer brothers, Scarlet must piece together her life and try to break the curse before her impending death comes again



As a second book, I don't really need to dive into the environment all over again as it remains the same.

And while the characters are also familiar and the same, I find myself liking Gabriel less, and less. Well, not so much disliking per say, but definitely being overshadowed by Tristan. (And I want him and Heather to get together. That would be nice.)

Tristan is >insert incredibly sexy word here<. I liked him in the last book, I LOVE him in this one. I find myself cheering for him and Scarlet more and more.

Scarlet becomes stronger. It's visible in her actions and her need to act. It's a great quality and I enjoyed watching her grow. And she has some totally bad ass moments which I loved.

Overall, a great continuation of Anew. The plot moves forward quickly but not so quick that important details are lost or forgotten. The twist at the end left me screaming for more, but alas, I must wait for the next book. Definitely a great read, if you've read the first one.

My Rating:
 

Short Review: The Girl in the Clockwork Collar


The Girl in the Clockwork Collar
Author: Kady Cross
Publisher: Harlequin
Publish Date: May 2012

In New York City, 1897, life has never been more thrilling - or dangerous.

Sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne and her "straynge band of mysfits" have journeyed from London to America to rescue their friend Jasper, hauled off by bounty hunters. But Jasper is in the clutches of a devious former friend demanding a trade-the dangerous device Jasper stole from him...for the life of the girl Jasper loves.

One false move from Jasper and the strange clockwork collar around Mei's neck tightens. And tightens.

Not a review so much as my basic thoughts. I love Kady Cross’s books and as this is the second book in a series me fawning over the characters (again) isn’t really going to do much. Thus I wrote a really, really short collection of thoughts. 

This was a great continuation from The Girl in the Steel Corset. The character development was thorough and definitely left the reader wanting more. 

The plot was straight forward at first but then completely unexpected at the end.  Totally surprised me in a pleasant way.

Overall, it was a great, complete story. I look forward to more from these characters.

My Rating:

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Book Review: The Probability of Miracles



Haha. I am alive! Thank you everyone for sticking it out with me! I really appreciate it! 
 
 

The Probability of Miracles
Author: Wendy Wunder
Publish Date: July 5, 2012
Publisher: Razorbill
A dying teen learns to live in this heart-wrenching debut, perfect for fans of If I Stay

Campbell Cooper has never been in love. And if the doctors are right, she'll never have the chance. So when she's told she needs a miracle, her family moves 1,500 miles north to Promise, Maine--a place where amazing, unexplainable events are said to occur--like it or not. And when a mysterious envelope arrives, containing a list of things for Cam to do before she dies, she finally learns to believe--in love, in herself, and maybe even in miracles, as improbable as they may seem.


Everyone that knows me knows that I’m not really into the contemporary YA. So, it was really surprising when I found myself wanting to read this book. Dying to read this book (considering I put it on my TBR way before it came out.) I’m so very glad I took that leap of Faith. 

Cam is a great character. She’s dying, has accepted it and is mostly apathetic about it.  She withdraws from people and is semi content to just lay down and die.  It’s sad but courageous at the same time. She’s not raging at the unfairness of it all; she’s not cursing everyone and acting outrageously out of character in her final days. She just accepts. She doesn’t believe in miracles; she doesn’t believe there’s any way to save her.

The characters around her however, do not accept. Her mother, her sister, her friends that she really didn’t want, are actually the people that direct the story more than our heroine. They refuse to give up what has already been confirmed as a losing battle. It does drive Cam into doing some stupid stuff. 

The plot is well written. It moves at pace there is something always happening. For a dying person Cam isn’t very whiny. She’s actually really strong willed and stubborn in her decision making. It makes the story all the more active because while Cam has already given up she sort of also accepts that those around her are trying and causes twists in the story that give moments of bafflement at her antics. 

Overall, it was a great story. The characters are really thoroughly thought out and complete. None of them are lacking or annoying in any situation. It’s a really complete story and I found myself extremely saddened at the end. 

My Rating: